Screaming Eagles Hand Out Hardware At Annual Awards Banquet

Cape Breton Screaming Eagles captain Phélix Martineau was the big winner as the team held its 21st annual awards night in Membertou on Monday night. In total twelve trophies were handed out.

Martineau captured five awards- including the Cape Breton Beverages Ltd. Trophy as the Most Valuable Player, the Cape Breton University Trophy as Academic Player of the Year, and the Greg Lynch Memorial Trophy for Leadership. Although the regular season has not yet concluded, Martineau holds a 20 point lead over Mathias Laferrière for the team’s scoring race and as a result the Eagles captain was awarded the Casino Nova Scotia Trophy as the team’s Regular Season Scoring Champion. Martineau was also honoured by the team’s supporters, capturing the 94.9 The Cape Fan’s Choice Award.

It’s the second consecutive season Martineau has captured both the Fan’s Choice Award and Academic Player Award. This season the 20 year old forward scored 30 goals and collected 30 assists through 65 games. Martineau has spent his entire four year major junior career with the Screaming Eagles.

Fellow 20 year olds Jordan Ty Fournier and Ross MacDougall also walked away with hardware. Fournier, in his fourth season in the QMJHL, captured the Tim Hortons Trophy for Outstanding Community Involvement. Last year he shared the award with Olivier LeBlanc. This season Fournier has 33 points in 64 games.

MacDougall was awarded the Bobby Joe Ryan Memorial Trophy (presented by Molson) for Best Sportsmanship. The 20 year old defenseman is also in his fourth QMJHL season. This year he has compiled 31 points in 41 games.

Other veterans to bring home honours were 19 year old forwards Declan Smith and Tyler Hylland. Smith captured Tokyo Lloyd MacDonald Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Work Ethic while Hylland earned the Jim Hawkins Memorial Trophy as the club’s Humanitarian of the Year.

This season Smith has 37 points in 62 in his third QMJHL season, all time spent with Cape Breton. Hylland, a fourth year player in the league, has 28 points in 57 contests.

The Rudderham’s Source for Sports Trophy, awarded to to the Rookie of the Year, went to 17 year old Russian forward Egor Sokolov, who has 38 points in 61 matches in 2017-18. Another rookie, 16 year old Brooklyn Kalmikov, was recognized with the MacLeod-Lorway Insurance Trophy as the Most Improved Player. Kalmikov has compiled 32 points through 55 games.

Last season the Most Improved Player award went to then rookie blueliner Adam McCormick. This season the 17 year old McCormick was presented with the Eastlink Trophy as the club’s Top Defenseman. Thus far in 2017-18 the sophomore rearguard has 36 points in 65 games.

The award winners and their teammates are back in action on Wednesday night as the Screaming Eagles visit the Moncton Wildcats, before returning home to Centre 200 for games against the Saint John Sea Dogs on Friday & Saturday. Tickets for both games can be purchased at the Centre 200 box office, by phone at 902-564-2200 or online at<>

More News
Eagles Make Three Reassignments From Training Camp
1 day ago
Eagles Reassign Nine Players From Training Camp
2 days ago
5 days ago
2019 Screaming Eagles Training Camp Schedule
3 weeks ago
4 weeks ago
Eagles Community Cruiser
1 month ago