Screaming Eagles Name Roster For 2017-2018 Season

The Cape Breton Screaming Eagles have chosen their roster for the 2017-18 season, introducing the players at a public Meet The Team event in Membertou on Wednesday night.  There are 23 players on the opening night roster- 14 forwards, seven defensemen, and two goaltenders.

Among the 23 players are 15 returnees and eight rookies.  Occupying the club’s three 20 year old spots will be two forwards (Jordan Ty Fournier & Phélix Martineau) and one defenseman (Ross MacDougall.)  MacDougall will be beginning his third full season in the QMJHL, while Fournier and Martineau will both be fourth year major junior players.   Martineau is the longest tenured Eagle, having played for the club since the beginning of the 2014-15 season.

Three of the rookies on this year’s club- forwards Gabriel Proulx and Kyle McGrath in addition to defenseman Ryan MacLellan- appeared in QMJHL games with the Screaming Eagles as affiliate players during the 2016-17 season.  All three players were chosen in the 2016 QMJHL draft- Proulx and MacLellan by the Screaming Eagles, and McGrath by the Charlottetown Islanders.   McGrath (round six, pick 101) was acquired from Charlottetown in January of 2017.

Cape Breton’s three top selections from the 2017 draft- forwards Brooklyn Kalmikov and Ryan Francis, as well as defenseman Noah Laaouan, have cracked the team’s opening night roster.  Rounding out the crop of rookies are another pair of forwards- first round import draft choice Egor Sokolov of Russia and free agent Justin Lazure.

Listed below is the Screaming Eagles opening night for 2017-18 season.

The Screaming Eagles will play their third and final home exhibition game on Saturday, September, 9th, at 7 PM at the Emera Centre in North Sydney when they host the Charlottetown Islanders. Tickets for the game can be purchased at the Centre 200 Box Office and the Emera Centre Box Office, which is open from Monday to Friday from 9AM to 5PM. Sales are cash only.

On September 22nd, Cape Breton will open the QMJHL regular season on the road against the Acadie-Bathurst Titan, and the Screaming Eagles will host the Titan the following week on September 29th in Cape Breton’s home opener.

Kyle Jessiman (1999-01-12) Returnee
Kevin Mandolese (2000-08-22) Returnee

Leon Gawanke (1999-05-31) Returnee
Noah Laaouan (2001-03-07) Round 1 (#14), 2017
Ross MacDougall (1997-03-06) Returnee
Ryan MacLellan (2000-02-03) Round 4 (#67), 2016
Adam McCormick (2000-06-25) Returnee
Sacha Roy (1999-04-05) Returnee
Alexis Sansfaçon (1999-03-09) Returnee

Drake Batherson (1998-04-27) Returnee
Olivier Bourret (2000-01-18) Returnee
Peyton Hoyt (1999-02-18) Returnee
Jordan Ty Fournier (1997-04-04) Returnee
Ryan Francis (2001-12-02) Round 2 (#21), 2017
Tyler Hylland (1998-04-21) Returnee
Brooklyn Kalmikov (2001-04-21) Round 1 (#15), 2017
Mathias Laferrière (2000-06-27) Returnee
Justin Lazure (1999-02-05) Free Agent
Phélix Martineau (1997-06-03) Returnee
Kyle McGrath (1999-04-16) TRADE Charlottetown
Gabriel Proulx (1999-03-24) Round 8 (#139), 2016
Declan Smith (1998-05-07) Returnee
Egor Sokolov (2000-06-07) Round 1 CHL Import Draft (#35), 2017



More News
Dumont Named Assistant Coach for Team Canada
2 weeks ago
Screaming Eagles Choose 15 Players In Two Drafts, Make Multiple Trades
1 month ago
Screaming Eagles Hire Charles Grant As Goalie Coach, Scott Gouthro As Goalie Consultant
2 months ago
Screaming Eagles Complete Four Transactions As Trade Period Opens
2 months ago
2018-19 Screaming Eagles Schedule Released
2 months ago
Screaming Eagles Ready For 2018 QMJHL Draft
2 months ago